Home > 2010 Season, Formula One > 2010 Formula 1 Constructors Entry List

2010 Formula 1 Constructors Entry List

Well, last night the FIA posted the full 2010 entry list and it’s pretty much exactly what everybody expected, though there’s one disappointment that I’ll get to after the entry list.

Vodafone McLaren Mercedes
1 Jenson Button
2 Lewis Hamilton

Mercedes GP Petronas F1 Team
3 Michael Schumacher
4 Nico Rosberg

Red Bull Racing
5 Sebastian Vettel
6 Mark Webber

Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro
7 Felipe Massa
8 Fernando Alonso

AT&T Williams
9 Rubens Barrichello
10 Nico Hulkenburg

Renault F1 Team
11 Robert Kubica
12 Vitaly Petrov

Force India F1 Team
14 Adrian Sutil
15 Vitantonio Liuzzi

Scuderia Toro Rosso
16 Sebastien Buemi
17 Jaime Alguersuari

Lotus Racing
18 Jarno Trulli
19 Heikki Kovalainen

HRT F1 Team
20 TBA (Karun Chandhok?)
21 Bruno Senna

BMW Sauber F1 Team
22 Pedro de la Rosa
23 Kamui Kobayashi

Virgin Racing
24 Timo Glock
25 Lucas di Grassi

Now, there are just a few things that I’d like to point out or mention..

1. Mercedes’ team name is too long! I abbreviated the name and it’s still gargantuan. If I were to write out the full name, it would be Mercedes Grand Prix Petronas Formula One Team… Wow. Isn’t that a little bit too long? I’ll bet anything that it will just be shortened to Mercedes Petronas F1 on television broadcasts.

2. HRT is what became of the Campos Meta team. Unlike USF1, Campos has managed to crawl through and should definitely be on the grid next week. They still only have one announced driver, but the second is expected to be revealed within the next few days. Karun Chandhok is expected to drive for HRT alongside Bruno Senna, who it feels was announced as a Campos driver ages ago now. USF1 refugee Jose Maria Lopez is expected to be the teams reserve and test driver.

3. The Sauber team is still being called “BMW Sauber” despite BMW not being involved in Formula One at all. Since Peter Sauber obtained Ferrari engines for 2010, this technically makes the team BMW Sauber Ferrari. Hmm, two rival European manufacturers appearing to be running a joint team? I don’t think that BMW or Ferrari will like this very much, and I would not be surprised if BMW, Ferrari, and/or Sauber appeal to have the name changed before next weekend in Bahrain.

4. No Stefan GP. This also means no Kazuki Nakajima or Jacques Villeneuve. I don’t care about Nakajima because he’s slower than molasses on a cold day, but I really wished that Jacques Villeneuve would have taken to the grid. He is the only man fit to represent my country in F1 for at least a few more years (until someone such as Red Bull takes a good look at Robert Wickens from F2), so it was disheartening to see Stefan denied USF1’s grid spot yesterday. I can’t mourn about this for too long though, since favourite drivers come and go all the time. Other favourites of mine have departed, such as Olivier Panis who is certainly well out of F1 and Kimi Raikkonen will probably want to stay in the WRC indefinitely, so there’s no use crying over spilled milk. Jacques may not be on the 2010 grid yet, but he’s like a bad cold – you think that he’s starting to leave but then he comes back when you least expect, over and over again.

And with that, there are only ten days left until Bahrain. I don’t imagine anything else newsworthy will happen before then, except for HRT announcing Karun Chandhok. Ferrari and Red Bull are also appealing to the FIA to investigate McLaren’s rear wing, because they want to know if it is legal or not, though even the teams pointing their fingers believe it will be, so there’s not a whole lot to discuss there.

For now, I will just kick back and wait for the lights in Bahrain. 2010 is going to be an amazing show, the most exciting season since I have followed Formula One. I can hardly wait!

  1. August 26, 2014 at 4:29 PM

    If you’d like to share your thinking of the Hamilton – Rosberg
    incident, then pls. vote here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: